Bergen County Child Support Attorney
Representing Clients Through Child Support Matters
Parents are obligated to financially support their children. When going through the process of divorce, a couple may have to develop a just child support plan or have a court decide on the matter. In New Jersey, child support is presumed to end at the age of 19, with some exceptions. Child support cases are decided on by following the New Jersey Child Support guidelines. To protect the interests of the child, NJ’s support guidelines take many factors into consideration, including the income of the couple, the time spent with each parent, and the needs of the child. Once a judge or couple develops a fair child support structure, the parents must follow the order or judgment. If you need quality legal support from a passionate and effective legal team, contact The Radol Law Firm for an initial consultation.
New Jersey Child Support Guidelines
New Jersey courts follow child support guidelines to come to a decision on the obligation of each parent regarding the financial support of a child. First, a court will assess the financial situation of the family. High-income families are subject to a minimum of the greatest child support award under the guidelines and can increase from that base when considering the other factors of the case. Some of the many factors that NJ courts review include:
- The needs of the children
- The established standard of living
- The economic circumstances of each parent
- Factors that impact the earning ablity of each party
- Age and health of each family member
- Income, assets and earning ability of each child
- Other child support obligations
- Other factors the court deems relevant.
When Does Child Support End?
On February 1, 2017, child support drastically changed in New Jersey. Before this shift in the law, the presumed age when child support was terminated was 18 years of age. Now, a parent’s child support obligation ends on the 19th birthday, unless otherwise provided by a court order or judgment, with some exceptions. When a child is in high school, full-time college, vocational or graduate school, or if a child is disabled, the obligation can continue to the age of 23. If you believe that your child is “emancipated”, contact an attorney to discuss the matter. The determination is extremely fact-sensitive.
Generally, if a divorcing couple has not already agreed to how college contributions will be handled, capable parents may be obligated to support their children through college and contribute to the higher education of their kin. N.J.S.A. 2A:34-23(a) and Newburgh v. Arrigo, 88 N.J. 529, 544 (1982) put forth the factors that a court will consider to determine the amount, if any, parents are obligated to contribute.
Contact The Radol Law Firm
If you are faced with a divorce case that needs to address the topic of child support, you have a lot to consider. The Radol Law Firm has over 30 years of experience guiding clients through all facets of divorce. If your contested divorce case is based on child support, we would be happy to assess your situation, guide you through your legal options and passionately represent your interests in and out of court. Contact The Radol Law Firm for a consultation today.